About the BMS

About the Belgian Mathematical Society:

The Belgian Mathematical Society's mission is to assemble all Belgian Mathematicians and defend their interests. Foreign members are also welcome. We comment on news items concerning mathematics and give advice to decision makers in Belgium.

The Belgian Mathematical Society is an institutional member of the European Mathematical Society.

How to become a member?!

If you want to become a member, please refer to the information on this page.

Staff and organisation of the Belgian Mathematical Society until December 2024 (as approved by the General Assembly of 20/12/2023):

  • President: Joost VERCRUYSSE (ULB) joost(dot)vercruysse(at)ulb(dot)be
  • Vice-President: Sonja HOHLOCH (UAntwerpen) sonja(dot)hohloch(at)uantwerpen(dot)be
  • Treasurer: Céline ESSER (ULiège) celine(dot)esser(at)uliege(dot)be
  • Secretary: Yvik SWAN (ULB) yvik(dot)swan(at)ulb(dot)be

Further members of the board of the BMS:

  • Nero BUDUR (KU Leuven)
  • Stef CAENEPEEL (VUB, Editor in chief of the Bulletin)
  • Philippe CARA (VUB, Webmaster)
  • Jérôme DAQUIN (UNamur)
  • Andreas DEBROUWERE (VUB)
  • Kenny DE COMMER (VUB)
  • Peter DeE MAESSCHALCK (UHasselt) 
  • Camille DEBIEVE (UCL, Managing Editor of the Bulletin)
  • Jonas DERE (KUL-Kortrijk)
  • Sonja HOHLOCH (UAntwerpen)
  • Wendy GOEMANS (KU Leuven, Editor of the Newsletter) 
  • Tom MESTDAG (UAntwerpen)
  • Christian MICHAUX (UMons)
  • Samuel NICOLAY (ULiège)
  • Leo STORME (UGent)
  • François THILMANY (UCLouvain) 
  • Germain VAN BEVER (ULB)
  • Jean VAN SCHAFTINGEN (UCLouvain)
  • Andreas WEIERMANN (UGent)

BMS Statutes (as of 2020):

          pdf in French -- pdf in Dutch (soon)

General assemblies

Past presidents

  • 2023-  Joost Vercruysse (ULB)
  • 2019-2023 Yvik Swan (ULB) 
  • 2016-2018 Philippe Cara (VUB)
  • 2012-2016 Françoise Bastin (ULiège)
  • Catherine Finet (UMH)