Young Scholar Day 2023

The BMS will organize its first “Young Scholar Day” on December 20th 2023 on the VUB-campus in Brussels. The aim of this event is to give the opportunity to early career researchers in Belgium to meet and present their results during short talks.

Furthermore, the 2023 Godeaux lecture will be given at the beginning of the event. Over lunch time, the BMS general assembly will take place as well, during which the winner of the BMS Young Scholar Award 2023 will be announced. 

The venue of the event is the U-residence at the VUB main campus in Etterbeek (Brussels). A campus map and directions how to reach the venue can be found here (the U-residence is indicated as building “U” on the map). 

Registration is free for BMS members and 20 euros for non BMS members (see form below). You can  pay your dues/registration fee via bank transfer (BIC: GEBABEBB / IBAN: BE70 0011 7447 8525 with communication "NAME + FIRST NAME + AFFILIATION").

Preliminary schedule (click on name for abstract):

  • 09h00 - 09h30: welcome and coffee
  • 09h30 - 10h30: Godeaux lecture by Sophie Grivaux
  • 10h30 - 11h00: coffee break
  • 11h00 - 12h15: parallel sessions
  • 12h15 - 14h00: Lunch break
  • 12h15 - 12h45: Board meeting (decision on YSA ‘23)
  • 13h30 - 14h00: BMS General Assembly – Announcement of YSA winner
  • 14h00 - 15h15: parallel sessions
  • 15h15 - 15h45: coffee break
  • 15h45 - 17h00: parallel session
    • 3a: Operator algebras and operator theory (Chairs: De Commer and Szabo): Anna Duwenig (KU Leuven) Jacek Krajczok (VUB) Sigiswald Barbier (UGent)
    • 3b: Partial differential Equations (Chairs: Duerinckx and Olbermann): Elise Bonhomme (ULB) Amirali Hannani (KU Leuven) Marianna Chatzakou (UGent)
    • 3c: Combinatorics and discrete mathematics (Chair: Fiorini): Anna Vanden Wyngaerd (ULB) Stijn Cambie (KU Leuven) Pierre Popoli (ULG)
  • 17h00 - 18h00: Drink!

Registration is now closed. See you on December 20th!